Post Secret Play

23 10 2012

Last night I did something awesome. If you haven’t yet, I recommend you check out PostSecret, every Sunday. I had seen a few weeks ago, all the recent college appearances Frank Warren (creator of PostSecret) would be doing. But there were a few at the bottom of the page about a play. When I first saw it though it said “Sold Out”. Fortunately that didn’t stop me from going to Playhouse not eh Park’s website and attempting to buy tickets. As luck would have it, they weren’t completely sold out!

And for once I was kind of glad I didn’t have a bunch if friends to gather with. Hubby and I got there a half hour early and still struggled for parking. As we got inside I took a detour to the bathroom, and was pleasantly surprised to see quite a few post-it’s on the mirrors, already with some secrets written on them. Once inside the incredibly tiny theatre that holds probably 200, I realized quickly that I knew no one else here. But that didn’t stop people having some great chats via tweets on the big screen with the #pscincy hash tag. It was a great way to get in the mood.

image

The theatre wasn’t filled, and I was in the front row only 2 feet from the edge of a round stage, surrounded on 3 sides with 3 lone empty stools. It was going to be an intimate show. From the program:

“Two weeks ago I was placed in a psych ward for attempting to take my own life. I was sitting alone until another boy came up to me and simply said, “You’re not the most fucked up person anymore.” For the first time in my life I didn’t feel like I was the only one struggling.”
Like many of the secrets shared with me, this email about an intimate encounter between strangers is One I will never forget. It’s the story of a boy telling a girl the secret she needs t hear. It’s a twisted and beautiful Valentine.

Tonight’s performance is a love letter to PostSecret.
-Frank Warren

The show featured 2 actors and a third, Abby Rowold, the lucky Cincy actress for the show. They acted out secrets and read ones that were projected on the screen behind them… And it was…. Magical. I truly have no words. I laughed. I cried. I cringed. I was confused. I was in love. It was just a workshop, as they are still figuring out what works and what doesn’t and where they want to go with the project. We had a little constructive criticism session afterwards, and for their almost perfect. Frank also stuck around to answer questions and sign things after.

Seriously, if you get the chance to go see the PostSecret Play, do it. It’s worth any amount of driving. And Cincy was lucky to have the perfect setting in Playhouse in the Park

image

image

For those that have a relationship with PostSecret, Frank will be at Xavier next Monday the 29th. Xavier students get the first shot at tickets this week, but there are some tickets set aside for the general public. They are available at the Cintas Center starting tomorrow (Weds) from 9-5. First come first serve. If anyone gets extras before I get there, I’d love to get one 😉

Ps. For those that went last night, the Japanese secret was “I live in Japan. I want to change my gender. I want to get married.” 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

