11/11/11

11 11 2011

I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to have a post on 11/11/11 now could I?? 😛 Or even moreso to chance to thank those who have, who are, and who will be serving our country.

This day may not hold a special meaning to people other than a day of school or work. I’ll admit, it had never really meant a whole lot to me either… until this year. It amazes me how one person, or one day can change your view on something. Ok I lied, it did mean something to me back in 2001 as well. But then it was long forgotten through college. It was never acknowledged in my small private liberal arts school. Heck, even MKL day wasn’t acknowledged til my junior year, and again it was mainly “woohoo a day of no class!” Man, I hate getting old….

But not this year. This year I cry when I hear the stories and the mashups on the radio (omg.. I’m turning into my mother!). It’s true. I did this morning when Q102 had a thing with president speeches and some soldier remarks. Why am I so affected by it all of a sudden… One person…

My Bubby. My little brother, Private Giere. The kid who we didn’t think would make it through high school let alone go to college. Went to vocational school and realized he was ungodly good at welding. His teacher said he was one o the best students he had had. He was learning 2nd year stuff in his first year, just he wouldn’t get bored. And then he found out he could really but that to use. And joined the National Guard, in the Army Corps of Engineers. or as he describes it, ‘I blow stuff up, build stuff [like bridges], then blow it up again’. He’s currently in Mississippi getting his final training in before heading to Afghanistan. Maybe. Or I can hope that we’re really going to be pulling troops back and he’ll get to stick around awhile and not make his family sick with worry for 9 months 😛

But to my brother, and his battalion, my uncle Phil, my late grandfather, and all my friends, and even people I don’t know, who have served, currently serving, or are thinking about it, Thank you. From the bottom of my heart. I may not always be for a war, and yes I might complain about how stupid or pointless they are sometimes, but I will always, ALWAYS support our troops. And yes, you can be against a war, and for our troops.

A million times, Thank You.

Send off Rally with about 1/4 of my family....no joke.

 

I love you, and Thanks 🙂

 

Seriously thank a vet. You’ll be surprised how happy it makes you… not to mention them 🙂 Let me know how it goes!

Actions

Information

One response

24 11 2011
Ed

Us Veterans always need more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times go after your heart. Huzzah and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

